Skip to Content

Before Animal House

Cinema studies recently digitized a silent movie that provides glimpses of campus as it was in the 1920s.

Long before Animal House was filmed on campus, the UO served as the backdrop for Ed’s Coed, a romantic comedy made by students in 1929. Students and faculty from cinema studies recently collaborated with the library and the School of Music and Dance to digitize the silent movie, originally a 16-milimeter film print. The film is an entertaining trip down Memory Lane, with Johnson Hall, McArthur Court and Hayward Field’s iconic east grandstands in the footage (cameos also go to former dean John Straub and coaching legend Bill Hayward, for whom the athletic facility was named).



George Wickes, professor emeritus of English, is featured in new Ken Burns documentary, “The ...
Big data and data analytics will be at the center of a new interdisciplinary effort. 
The New Yorker profiles UO alumna Heidi Schreck and her new play on the Constitution.
New book: “You Can Do Anything: The Surprising Power of a ‘Useless’ Liberal Arts ...