Skip to Content

CAS Diversity Committee Descriptions

Several CAS departments have made great progress in establishing diversity committees. As the examples below will illustrate, these can vary in size, composition and charge according to the needs of the department. The following three departments presented at the March, 2017 CAS heads meeting. The Dean’s office offers summaries here of their committees as potential models for other CAS units.



Anthropology has formed a Community Committee. The chair of the Community Committee is appointed annually by the department head and is a tenured associate or full professor. The members of the Community Committee are also appointed annually by the head in consultation with the chair of the committee and may be any TRF or NTTF. The Community Committee is responsible for department diversity and equity considerations and initiatives. The committee works to improve the departmental climate and the continued support of a diverse constituency.



The Department of English has formed a Diversity Committee. Membership consists of the department head, six other faculty reflecting the disciplinary and demographic diversity of the department, and one graduate student. While the department head serves on the committee, a chair shall be elected by the committee at the first scheduled meeting of the academic year. The chair serves as diversity liaison with the Office of Equity and Inclusion and with the larger university community. At least one member should be drawn from each of the following groups: assistant professors, associate professors, professors, career NTTF, and graduate students.

Functions: To work toward the University of Oregon’s stated goal that diversity is a matter of institutional priority and an integral component of academic success. The Diversity Committee understands the concept of diversity in the broadest terms, including, but not limited to race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality, ability, class, and other areas of social equality. Following the University of Oregon Diversity Plan, the Diversity Committee understands that diversity is a goal of the entire university community. The committee will work toward fulfilling the University’s diversity goals at the department level, as stated in the Diversity Plan:

  1. Improving Campus Climate
  2. Developing a Culturally Responsive Community
  3. Building Critical Mass
  4. Expanding and Filling the Pipeline
  5. Developing and Strengthening Community Linkages
  6. Developing and Reinforcing Diversity Infrastructure

To these ends, the Diversity Committee will develop concrete strategies for improving demographic and research diversity in the areas of:

  1. Working to create and sustain an inclusive, accessible, and equitable department climate
  2. Recruiting and retaining demographically diverse faculty
  3. Supporting diversity-related research as it is broadly conceived
  4. Recruiting and retaining demographically diverse graduate and undergraduate students



Psychology has formed a Committee for an Inclusive Climate (CIC), the core mission of which is to foster an inclusive environment in the Department of Psychology. Its specific objectives are to:

  1. Provide opportunities for the department to discuss diversity and inclusivity via twice yearly town hall meetings, discussion sessions during recruitment meetings and interim newsletters
  2. Integrate these values into our research, teaching, and mentorship by making resources (e.g., teaching materials) and information available
  3. Inform department members about additional campus resources (e.g., Center on Diversity and Community, VP of Equity and Inclusion, TEP), and the services they provide for dealing with diversity and inclusivity issues
  4. Survey departmental attitudes about diversity and inclusivity on an annual basis, chart trends, and report the results to the department.

Membership of the CIC consists of:

  • Committee chair, recruited from NTTF or TTF faculty
  • At least one additional faculty member, recruited from NTTF or TTF faculty.
  • Graduate student, faculty, and staff volunteers.

The two faculty members are appointed by the department head or his/her designee.

Membership for the chair is one year, after which the committee’s second faculty member takes over as chair; membership for the graduate student volunteers is typically at least one year and no more than two.