Looking Eastward at the West side of Tykson Hall
About the College of Arts and Sciences

Leadership & Staff

Contact the Dean’s Office
Tykeson Hall
College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Office
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
1030 East 13th Ave
Eugene, OR   97403-1245
541-346-3902
Dean of Arts and Sciences
CAS Dean Chris Poulsen

Chris Poulsen

Tykeson Dean of Arts and Sciences
541-346-3902
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
poulsenc@uoregon.edu
Interim Executive support: Rebeca Silva Rivera

Chris Poulsen oversees the operations of the College of Arts and Sciences, which offers 50 major degree programs in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, and includes 900 faculty members and more than 2,000 employees. He sits on the Academic Leadership Team and the Dean’s Council. Before coming to the UO, Poulsen was the Associate Dean for Natural Sciences in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts at the University of Michigan (2018-2022). He is an earth scientist who also served as chair of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at U-M (2014-2018).

Associate/Divisional Deans & Directors
Melissa Baese-Berk

Melissa Baese-Berk

Associate Dean for Student Success, Career and Pedagogy
541-346-3899
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
mbaesebe@uoregon.edu
Executive support: Ellen Baldwin

Melissa Baese-Berk is a Professor of Linguistics and the David M. and Nancy L. Petrone Faculty Scholar. She also directs the Speech Perception and Production Laboratory at the University of Oregon. She joined the Dean’s leadership team in summer of 2022. She served as the Director of Undergraduate Studies in Linguistics (2015-2022) and  as the Director of the Second Language Acquisition and Teaching Certificate Program (2015-2020). She also served on the Dean’s Advisory Committee (2019-2020).

 

Jamie Bufalino

Jamie Bufalino

Associate Dean for Student Success, Advising and Curriculum
541-346-3899
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
bufalino@uoregon.edu
Executive support: Ellen Baldwin

Jamie Mayhew Bufalino is a senior instructor in the department of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. She also directs the General Social Sciences Program at the University of Oregon. She joined the Dean's Leadership team in the summer of 2022. Prior to her appointment as Associate Dean, she served for two years as the Student Success Liaison for the College of Arts and Sciences.

 

Karen Ford

Karen Ford

Dean for Faculty
541-346-3902
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
fordk@uoregon.edu
Executive support: Jules Jones

Karen Ford is the Dean of Faculty for the College of Arts and Sciences. She has previously served as Interim Dean of Clark Honors College and Senior Divisional Dean for Humanities in CAS. Before joining the CAS Dean’s Office, she served for three years as the Head of the Department of English, six years as the Director of the Creative Writing Program, and six years as the Director of Graduate Studies in English.

 

Sherri Nelson

Sherri Nelson

Associate Dean, Finance and Administration
541-346-8196
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
sherrin@uoregon.edu
Temporary executive support: Prabhu Prakash Khalsa

Sherri Nelson has been the Assistant Dean for Budget and Finance since 2015 and has played key roles in several university-wide projects, as well. As assistant dean, she is the principal fiscal officer for the College. This includes coordinating development, implementation and management of the annual budget process. She also manages ongoing business and financial transactions. Nelson serves as a liaison between the dean and the divisional deans, directors and managers, and the university Budget and Resource Planning office, Business Affairs, Human Resources, the Graduate School and the University of Oregon Foundation.

 

Hal Sadofsky

Hal Sadofsky

Divisional Dean, Natural Sciences
541-346-2902
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
sadofsky@uoregon.edu
Executive support: Jules Jones

Hal Sadofsky was appointed Dean for the Natural Sciences in fall of 2014. Immediately before that he spent six years as Mathematics Department Head and served the Mathematics Department as Director of Undergraduate Studies for six years before that.

 

Phil Scher

Philip Scher

Divisional Dean, Social Sciences
541-346-2902
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
adsocialsci@uoregon.edu
Executive support: Rebeca Silva Rivera

Philip Scher is a professor of anthropology and folklore and has served as director of the folklore program since 2015. Scher came to the UO in 2002 from George Washington University. He served as the director of undergraduate studies in anthropology (2005-2008) and director of graduate studies (2010-2012), and was the graduate awards committee chair (2012-13). Scher has served on the Faculty Senate and the Deans Advisory Committee.

 

Harry Wonham

Harry Wonham

Divisional Dean, Humanities
541-346-2902
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
ddhumanities@uoregon.edu
Temporary executive support: Prabhu Prakash Khalsa

Harry Wonham joined the CAS leadership team in January, 2020 as the Divisional Dean for Humanities. He has been a member of the UO faculty in the Department of English since 1995, serving as its Head from 2006 to 2012. He also served as Head of the Department of Theatre Arts from 2017 through 2019. His wide-ranging service to the university includes membership on the UO Faculty Personnel Committee (chair, 2014-15), the CAS Dean’s Advisory Group, the CAS Curriculum Committee (chair, 2003-04), the Undergraduate Council, and the Oregon Humanities Center Advisory Board.

Dean’s Office Staff

Ellen Baldwin

Executive Support Specialist
Supports Melissa Baese-Berk and Jamie Bufalino
ebaldwin@uoregon.edu
541-346-3336
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Ellen Coughran

Personnel & Budget Specialist
coughran@uoregon.edu
541-346-8605
Agate Hall

Anna Duncan

Associate Director, Human Resources, CAS Business Office
apuhn@uoregon.edu
541-346-4441
Agate Hall

Denice Gray

Strategic Research Analyst
deniceg@uoregon.edu
541-346-8762
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

 

Alicia de Gonzalez

Personnel & Budget Specialist
aliciad@uoregon.edu
541-346-3315
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Tom Johnston

Fiscal Coordinator
tomj2@uoregon.edu
541-346-3285
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Jules Jones

Executive Assistant
Supports Karen Ford and Hal Sadofsky
julesj@uoregon.edu
541-346-3501
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Kim Larsen

Office Specialist 2
Supports Cathy Soutar
klarsen7@uoregon.edu
541-346-8872
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

 

 

Echo Mendiguren-Dalton

Administrative Program Specialist for Operations
echom@uoregon.edu
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Lisa Mick Shimizu

Director of Operations and Strategic Initiatives
lisa@uoregon.edu
541-346-5472
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Pauline Miller

Executive Assistant
pcmiller@uoregon.edu
541-346-3469
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Amy Salmore

Assistant Director for Planning
asalmore@uoregon.edu
541-346-5520
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

 

Rebeca Silva Rivera

Executive Assistant
Supports Chris Poulsen and Phil Scher
rsilvari@uoregon.edu
541-346-3902
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

CAS Curriculum Coordinator
cascc@uoregon.edu

Cathy Soutar

Director of Planning & Facilities
csoutar@uoregon.edu
541-346-5567
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall
Executive Support: Kim Larsen

 

 

CAS Communications

John Burridge

Web Communications Technician
burridge@uoregon.edu
541-346-3914
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Cathy Kralik

Senior Director of Communications
kralik@uoregon.edu
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Anna Glavash Miller

Interim Director of Communications
aglavash@uoregon.edu
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Victoria Sanchez

Information Representative
vsanche7@uoregon.edu
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Fei Tsai

Web Communications Technician
ctsai@uoregon.edu
541-346-3968
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

CAS Grant Services

Mark Adams

Accounting Technician
mcadams@uoregon.edu
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Stephanie Gray

Grant and Research Administrator
sgray10@uoregon.edu
541-346-4819
127 Straub Hall

Alayne Switzer

Grant and Contract Coordinator
alayne@uoregon.edu
541-346-3439
227 Oregon Hall

Anna Wood

Research Admin Coordinator
acwood8@uoregon.edu
Fourth Floor, Tykeson Hall

Roger Woods

Grants and Contracts Technician
rogerw@uoregon.edu
541-346-4934
125 Straub Hall

 

CAS Development Office

Sarah Bungum

Associate Director of Donor Relations and Stewardship
sarahb@uoregon.edu
541-346-0045
204 Agate

Anna Carlson

Development Coordinator
acarlso9@uoregon.edu
541-346-3904
204 Agate

Renee Gordon

Sr. Director of Development
rsgordon@uoregon.edu
541-346-2119
209 Agate